Understanding VIN numbers

Understanding VIN numbers was created by blacklake

Posted 1 week 5 days ago #207203
Newbie here. I recently purchased a slightly dodgy 1999 MGF here in Australia. Apart from getting 'Rita' back on the road, I have been trying to get to grips with the VIN. Her number is SARRDWBGBXD which I looked up and it all makes sense apart from the engine being 1800 and the transmission saying 1600 manual or do I have that wrong? She was also registered locally as a VVC so that's apparently not right either nor is the speedo.... but that's another story.

I will eventually put her back on the road and would like the details to be correct. TIA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Cobber
  • Cobber's Avatar Online
  • '97 MGF 1.8 MPI

Replied by Cobber on topic Understanding VIN numbers

Posted 1 week 5 days ago #207206
Well g'day, and welcome aboard,

I'm based in Melbourne, where abouts in Oz are you? it will help us help you for any other questions you may have in the future.
The Vin that you've provided SARRDWBGXD, I decode that as: 
S=UK built, 
AR=MG/Rover, 
RD=MGF/TF, 
W=TL3/entry level trim,
B=2 body style/2 door roadster,
G=Engine: K1.8 MPI 18K4F 120PS (88KW)
B=Steering/Transmission/Final Drive Ratio: RHD/5 speed manual/ 3.9:1 ratio
X=Model year: 1999
D=Assembly Plant: Longbridge

So I figure your car was built as an  1999 / 1800cc MPI / 5sp manual / 3.9:1 final drive
Not a VVC so I don't know how the rego says that's what it is but it doesn't surprise me that the rego authorities  would have got it wrong, I've had many an argument with Vicroads over the years because they have the wrong info

I hope that helps

"Keep calm, relax, focus on the problem & PULL THE BLOODY TRIGGER"

by Cobber
The following user(s) said Thank You: David Aiketgate

Replied by blacklake on topic Understanding VIN numbers

Posted 1 week 4 days ago #207216
Hi